Skip to content


The judging panel for the 2018 Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award will comprise former journalist and best-selling author Sebastian Faulks; award winning novelist and short story writer Petina Gappah; acclaimed author and short story writer Tessa Hadley and broadcast journalist and author Mark Lawson. Andrew Holgate, Literary Editor of The Sunday Times, completes the line-up. The award is worth £30,000 to the winning writer.

The judges are looking for an outstanding English-language story of 6,000 words or under from a fiction author from anywhere in the world who has been published in the UK or Ireland. The winner will receive £30,000, and the five shortlisted writers will each receive £1,000. The deadline for entries this year is 6pm on 28 September 2017. A longlist will be announced in February 2018, followed by a shortlist of six in March 2018. The winner will be announced at a gala dinner in London on Thursday 26th April 2018.

Previous judges for The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award include Rose Tremain, Anne Enright, Joanna Trollope, Richard Eyre, Lionel Shriver, AS Byatt, Nick Hornby, Hanif Kureishi, Mark Haddon, Will Self, David Baddiel, Sarah Hall, Sir Melvyn Bragg and John Carey. The Award is managed by the Society of Authors.

Petina Gappah commented, “It’s a huge honour for me to be asked to judge the Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award. I am, above all, a short story writer, and I know many brilliant writers for whom this is a natural medium, but who do not get nearly the same attention they would if they wrote novels. So, it is truly gratifying to see this amount of attention, not to mention money, being given to the form. I look forward to judging this year, and to participating in wider conversations about how to give short stories the higher profile they deserve in the UK and beyond.”

  • Sebastian Faulks

    Sebastian Faulks is the author of the bestsellers A Week in December, A Possible Life, Human Traces, On Green Dolphin Street, Charlotte Gray and Birdsong, which has sold more than three million copies. His latest novel, Where My Heart Used to Beat, was published in 2016 in Hutchinson hardback and then Vintage paperback. His latest book, Pistache Returns, is a collection of satirical and surprising parodies.

    Petina Gappah

    An international lawyer and writer from Zimbabwe, Petina Gappah is the author of two critically acclaimed short story collections, An Elegy for Easterly and Rotten Row, and a novel, The Book of Memory, winner of The McKitterick Prize. Her short stories have been published in The New Yorker, A Public Space and other journals, and have been shortlisted for the Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award.

    Tessa Hadley

    Tessa Hadley is the author of six highly praised novels, Accidents in the Home, which was longlisted for the Guardian First Book Award, Everything Will Be All Right, The Master Bedroom, The London Train, Clever Girl and The Past, and two collections of short stories, Sunstroke and Married Love. She lives in London and is Professor of Creative Writing at Bath Spa University. Her stories appear regularly in The New Yorker and other magazines.

    Andrew Holgate

    Andrew Holgate has been the Literary Editor of The Sunday Times since 2008. Amongst many other prizes and awards, he has previously been a judge for the Samuel Johnson Prize, the Orwell Prize, the Somerset Maugham Awards and the Betty Trask Prize. He is also a member of the Folio Prize Academy.

    Mark Lawson

    Mark Lawson is a writer, broadcaster and journalist. He recently published his fifth novel, The Allegations, and his latest radio play, Holy Father, was broadcast on BBC Radio 4. His work as a broadcaster includes Front Row and Foreign Bodies (Radio 4), Mark Lawson Talks To… (BBC FOUR), and Late Review / Newsnight Review (BBC TWO). He is a critic and feature writer for The Guardian and theatre critic of The Tablet.