Skip to content



A prestigious panel of judges has been announced for the eighth awarding of the world’s most valuable prize for a short story.

The 2017 judging panel for the Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award, worth £30,000 to the winner, will consist of Booker-winning novelist and short story-writer Anne Enright, broadcast journalist and author Mark Lawson, Man Booker shortlisted novelist Neel Mukherjee, and Orange prize-winning novelist and short story writer Rose Tremain. Andrew Holgate, Literary Editor of The Sunday Times, completes the line-up.

Commenting on the prize, Anne Enright said: “The best gifts come in small packages. A good short story leaves nothing out, it is just the right size for itself, says something both old and unexpected, and leaves a wonderful silence in its wake. Writers do not produce short stories for money but for pleasure. They write a story because it is there. This competition puts value where the market does not; it celebrates the least of prose forms and the best.”

Previous judges of the award have included Joanna Trollope, Richard Eyre, Lionel Shriver, AS Byatt, Nick Hornby, Hanif Kureishi, Sarah Waters, Mark Haddon, Will Self, David Baddiel, Andrew O’Hagan, Elif Shafaf, Sarah Hall, Sir Melvyn Bragg and John Carey.

As Andrew Holgate said: “The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award has always been known for its striking judging panels, but this is one of the strongest and most experienced panels we have ever had, and I am hugely grateful to all four of my fellow judges for their belief in the prize and its aim to celebrate short fiction. The award, which has been generously sponsored right from the beginning by the private bank EFG, is now firmly established as one of the highlights of the literary calendar, and this year promises to be something special.”

Anne Enright
Anne Enright was born and now lives and works in Dublin. She has published five novels including ‘The Gathering’ which won the Man Booker Prize in 2007, ‘ The Forgotten Waltz’ and ‘The Green Road’ which won Irish Novel of the Year in 2015. She has published two collections of short stories, collected as ‘ Yesterday’s Weather’, and has had short stories published in the New Yorker, Paris Review and Granta. In January 2015 she was announced as the inaugural Laureate for Irish Fiction.

Andrew Holgate
Andrew Holgate has been the Literary Editor of The Sunday Times since 2008. Amongst many other prizes and awards, he has previously been a judge for the Samuel Johnson Prize, the Orwell Prize, the Somerset Maugham Award and the Betty Trask Award. He is also a member of the Folio Prize Academy.

Mark Lawson
Mark Lawson is a writer, broadcaster and journalist. He recently published his fifth novel, The Allegations and his latest radio play, Holy Father, was broadcast earlier this year on BBC Radio 4. His work as a broadcaster includes Front Row and Foreign Bodies (Radio 4), Mark Lawson Talks To… (BBC4), and Late Review / Newsnight Review (BBC2). He is a critic and feature writer for The Guardian and theatre critic of The Tablet.

Neel Mukherjee
Neel Mukherjee’s first novel, A Life Apart (2010), won the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain Award for best fiction. His second novel, The Lives of Others (2014), was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize and the Costa Novel Award and won the Encore Prize for best second novel. His third novel, A State of Freedom, is out in June 2017.

Rose Tremain
Rose Tremain was one of only five women writers to be included in Granta’s original list of 20 Best of Young British Novelists in 1983. Her novels and short stories have been published worldwide in 27 countries and have won many international prizes. Her 2014 collection of short stories, The American Lover, was shortlisted for the BBC Short Story Award and 2016 saw the publication of her fourteenth novel, The Gustav Sonata. She was made a CBE in 2007 and in 2013 was appointed Chancellor of the University of East Anglia.